Life is a Vapor

The title of my blog is inspired by James 4 and is the tattoo on my wrist.  I got a tattoo about 2 years ago with my mom and my sisters (my mom’s idea!:)…one sister is still contemplating what tattoo to get:)).  I wanted something that would be a reminder to myself not to be anxious, to depend on God.  But I couldn’t put “Do not be anxious”…too long.  And I didn’t want to write a Scripture reference like Philippians 4:6-7, because that wouldn’t spark any conversations with people who don’t know God..most likely people would just see it and think “Bible verse” and not care to ask what it was about.  We had just attended a session at the Shine women’s conference we were at in Florida, and Christine Cain was one of the main speakers. She spoke about our lives being a mist, a vapor. And she used a bottle of hairspray to illustrate her point, spraying it each time she said something that many of us so often worry about (like what house to buy, etc).  Every time she would spray it, she would say “vapor.”  And that is what I decided to get as my tattoo. It encompassed everything I was trying to say and wanted to remind myself of.  Our lives are a mist, here today and gone tomorrow.  I want to be focused on the things unseen, the things of God, the things of eternity.  I want to cast all my anxieties on Him. I want to be dependent on Him.  And I want Him to continue to lift the earthly veil over my eyes little by little (can’t handle too much at one time!:)) so that I can see with His eyes, more and more clearly, and love with His love.   James 4:13-15 says, “Now listen, you who says, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.’  Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow.  What is your life?  You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.  Instead, you ought to say ‘If it is the Lord’s will we will live and do this or that.'”  And, more than once, Clive has pointed to my tatoo or said “vapor” when I am starting to freak out about something totally not worth being anxious about.   And the words “And the things of earth will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace” could not be more true.

About glormars

I am mom to four very outgoing boys and married to my best friend, Clive. Our fourth son has Down Syndrome. I am the director of a Pregnancy Support Center here in Taichung, Taiwan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life is a Vapor

  1. LJR says:

    love it! how can I get each update you write? Do I have to just check when I feel like it?

  2. Nancy Wang says:

    Hey it’s nancy. I would love to hear more about it!

Leave a Reply

